Fitzpatrick re-elected as Bega Valley Mayor

January 11, 2022 11:49 pm in by

2022 Bega Valley Shire Councillors 2022

Bega Valley Shire’s new Council was officially sworn in at yesterday’s (Tuesday January 11) extraordinary meeting, with nine Councillors taking the oath or affirmation of office.

Councillor Russell Fitzpatrick was re-elected as Mayor and Councillor Liz Seckold re-elected as Deputy Mayor, until September 2023.

Acting CEO, Anthony McMahon congratulated the Mayor and Deputy Mayor on their appointment and welcomed Councillors to the various committees.

Article continues after this ad

“Yesterday marked the official start of what will be a busy term of Council, and Councillors have already started an intensive induction process,” Mr McMahon said.

“Due to the delay of the 2021 elections, this term of Council will be two years and nine months rather than the usual four years, with the Mayor and Deputy Mayor serving one year and nine months before the next vote.

“I’d like to congratulate Cr Fitzpatrick on his re-election as Mayor, and Cr Seckold on her re-election as Deputy Mayor.”

Councillor Russell Fitzpatrick said it was an honour to be re-elected as Mayor.

“Representing and advocating for the needs and wants of our community, as well as balancing those needs and wants against the limitations of budgets and resourcing, is a challenging but rewarding task,” Mayor Fitzpatrick said.

Article continues after this ad

“Over the coming term we need to keep improving our financial position, and carefully consider what grants we accept and what spending we prioritise.

“I’m looking forward to working with the new Council to continue to serve the community over this next term of Council.”

Councillor Liz Seckold said it was humbling to be re-elected as Deputy Mayor.

“I always say that working as a Councillor means living side-by-side with the people we represent. This means using the same services and infrastructure as everyone around you, and of course being there to deliver the best we can for everyone in the shire.

“I am honoured and humbled to again serve the people of the Bega Valley as their Deputy Mayor and look forward to working with a progressive and forward-thinking Council.”

Article continues after this ad

Councillors also selected Councillor representatives for Council’s committees. A full list will be available in the meeting minutes HERE later this week.

Contact details for all Councillors will be available on the Council website HERE later this week.

Photograph: Councillors Tony Allen, Joy Robin, Cathy Griff, Karen Wright, Russell Fitzpatrick, Mitch Nadin, Liz Seckold, Helen O’Neil and David Porter.

Image Credit: Bega Valley Shire Council